Waxing, waning and cumulonimbus

We started school back in late July and I keep forgetting to post photos!

DSC_0892 DSC_0894 DSC_0895

We don’t have “extra” space for a school room so I have been slowly converting the dining room for school. My dad is building us a “farm table” and the goal is to sell the dining room set. This way we will have more wall space for our maps and it won’t seem so cramped in the dining room. We usually do our reading on the couch and writing and drawing at the table. Here are some pictures of our “school room.” I have two really large maps; a world map and a USA map that will go on a wall once we sell the dining room set. By the way, the dining room hasn’t looked this nice since our first day back to school. The kids (mostly my little fireball) are constantly moving the small table and chairs from room to room and there is ALWAYS stray papers, scissors, crayons etc on the floor mixed with leftover food from meals. So, take these pictures with a grain of salt and realize that this is not how our life typically looks!

DSC_0887 DSC_0886 DSC_0885

We do year-round school mostly but we joined a c0-op with some friends and that began in August. The co-op is for G’s age group and we are doing Before Five in a Row together. It has been really fun so far and it is inspiring to see how the other mom’s teach their kids and learn from their ideas! This year we are doing Before five in a row with G and Five in a row with K; I try to pick books with similar themes and then I just go more in depth with K, although G and MJ are usually listening. G surprises me; he will be off to the side playing while I am working with K but later on he will repeat what I was teaching her.

DSC_0891 DSC_0889

As much as I would like to finish school before lunch, that is not usually how are days pan out. Because we live in Florida, it makes more sense to play outside in the morning and start school later when it heats up outside. Plus, most mornings I am busy with chores that have to be done early; Monday is laundry day and I try to have it hung outside before 9 or 10am. I sometimes work in the morning on Tuesday and Wednesday and then Thursday is Kombucha and granola day and Friday is baking day. The kids enjoy their mornings outside and I enjoy being productive during those times! We do try and do Bible first thing either during breakfast or right after breakfast; our days are more peaceful when we read the Bible together first thing in the morning! Plus, scripture is fresh on their mind during squabbles later on and we can refer back to memory verses during times of discipline.

DSC_0903 DSC_0905 DSC_0904 DSC_0900 DSC_0898

K will be 6 next week so we officially registered her as a homeschooler this year although I have no idea what “grade” she is in. It doesn’t really matter to us as long as she is progressing and enjoying learning! We are finishing up Math U See Primer with K and working on better quality handwriting and simple reading. I am trying to find a way for letters to interest G and we will start working on Math U See Primer with him soon as well. So far we have studied creation, learned the phases of the moon, studied China and the clouds and this week we are focusing on Paris and art (We love the Madeline series!). It is so fun to go outside at night and have the kids tell us the phase of the moon and study the clouds during the day and try to guess cloud combination (is that a cumulonimbus or a cirrostratus?). I am learning so much that I didn’t know or have forgotten (did I ever know about a waxing Gibbous moon?); and although there are a lot of hard days, some with tears (from everyone), I love teaching our 3 little monkeys!

 

Leave a Reply

