June in review

Another month has passed. Whew! Where did it go? So I don’t have a lot of pictures to show what we had going on in June but it was definitely a busy month! The beginning of the month began with my birthday. My wonderful husband made me breakfast in bed before he left for work at 6am. He went out and picked fresh blueberries and blackberries and made me an omelet with veggies and herbs from the garden. The flowers also came from the farm. What a wonderful way to wake up! The kids and I went blueberry picking in the morning and then spent the day together making kombucha and bread for the weekend market. I worked the day after my birthday and one of my co-workers baked me this beautiful cake. My MIL also baked me a beautiful (and delicious) Italian cream cheese cake but I don’t have a picture of that one.

DSC_0785CAM00875

June is always a busy month putting up food for the winter: peaches, blueberries, tomatoes, squash, beans, peas, cucumbers. Adam built a produce bin so we can store our winter squash and potatoes. It is beautiful! All of our spaghetti squash are volunteers, meaning we would throw the empty spaghetti squash bowls to the pigs last season and they would munch, chew, dig and root and now we have a beautiful harvest without any work. Another benefit to raising pigs!

DSC_0867

DSC_0795 DSC_0791 DSC_0789

The older two kids had VBS in June, however it was a little overwhelming for G. K is a people person and she LOVES the noise and chaos. She had a great time. Here is a picture of her on “crazy hair” night.

DSC_0801 DSC_0797

We had a lot of bunnies ready in June and we were a little behind in butchering. These are some bunnies that are a little older but they are still cute (and delicious!).

DSC_0779 DSC_0778 DSC_0775 DSC_0773

Our anniversary came a few weeks after my birthday. We celebrated 12 years of marriage this year! Adam was on-call so we didn’t go on a date until a few weeks later. We are so blessed how God has blessed us in our marriage and we give Him all of the glory!

I have been selling kombucha and bread (and sometimes jam and veggies) at a local farmer’s market. It has been fun educating people on kombucha and encouraging them to start making it themselves. I feel like I have finally perfected my bread recipe and Adam is glad that I can finally make sandwich bread.

CAM00888 CAM00886 CAM00890

We decided to move MJ out of her crib; mostly because her “room” is really small (think SMALL office) and the crib is very bulky. It was such an easy transition and she is loving the independence of getting in her bed by herself. We were able to bless another family with the crib (we just kept the mattress). The crib was bought new for my nephew, who turns 14 in August, so it has lasted through 5 kids so far!

CAM00910 CAM00909

Our air-conditioner broke toward the end of June so we have been busy coming up with creative ways to stay cool. We are all sleeping in the same room (slumber party!), using many fans and not cooking much to keep from heating up the house more.

Thankfully, the early morning and evenings have been quite cool due recent rain, and there has only been a few days that are really hot (inside and out). This is how we feel some days fighting the heat (the heat usually wins).

DSC_0770 DSC_0771

Here are some fun pictures from June. MJ loves to talk on the phone!

CAM00908 CAM00906 CAM00904 CAM00903 CAM00883 CAM00879

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “June in review

  1. I LOVE THAT POST!!!!! I’m so happy I’m not the only one that believes it’s okay to all pile in the bed together sometimes and cuddle up and all go to sleep!!! 🙂 So happy y’all had a great month! You deserve the very best!!!! Hope to see you soon!

    Love Ya Mae Lynn, ~Ada Lynn. 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thanks girl! We didn’t actually sleep the whole night in the same bed. The kids were on pallets on the floor but they did end up in bed with us in the AM. It was fun having morning snuggles! It has been cool today so they are sleeping in their rooms tonight with extra fans!

  2. Our A/C went out toward the end of June too. Only had to did a small repair so just spent one night hot. But it wasn’t all that bad 🙂

    • Bummer Jill! Today is day 7 with no A/C! The biggest downside is not being able to cook without heating up the entire house. We will use the stove for a few minutes but we haven’t been using the oven. I went to my mom’s house Friday to bake bread for Saturday market! Hopefully we will have a solution this week. Miss you!

  3. I really enjoy reading about your family and all the amazing things you do on the farm. And I love the pictures!! Aunt Crystal

Leave a Reply

