July travels

The kids and I did quite a bit of traveling in  July. We went to Atlanta July 16th to watch the airing of my Uncle’s documentary at the Jimmy Carter Center. I traveled with my parents; my mom rode with me and my dad drove a separate car. It was such an honor to be there and see what an impact the documentary is having across the nation. There was a panel discussion afterwards and Jimmy Carter was on the panel. You should really check it out: Search for Identity. This is my uncle, Charlie Tuggle.

IMG_1941

On the way to Altanta, we stayed the night at my sister’s house in Hamilton, GA (near Callaway Gardens). We walked down to the creek with the kids. We picked up niece (13) in Hamilton and she drove with me the rest of the trip to Atlanta. We were able to stay with dear friends in north Atlanta and we also visited with my sisters, one who lives in Atlanta and the other two came for the documentary viewing.  My sister, Laura, lives near the Gwinnett Braves stadium so we took the older 2 kids to a game. It was so fun explaining the game to them! The weather was beautiful (a bit rainy) and there were fireworks after the game. On the way home, my nephew (15) rode with me as my helper. It was a great trip.

photo 5 photo 4

Explaining baseball to Kathryn

Explaining baseball to K

photo 3

Explaining baseball to Graham

Explaining baseball to G

photo 1 IMG_8614 IMG_0324 IMG_2285

Playing at the creek

Playing at the creek

A week after returning from Atlanta, we got back in the car (crazy right?) and drove 9 hours to my Dad’s hometown of Ft. Meade FL for a family reunion.  Adam wasn’t able to get time off work so my cousin Derek, who lives in Pensacola, agreed to drive down with me as my helper (my parents were in a separate car and they were a HUGE help as well). If anyone has ever been around K and G and knows how many questions they ask in a 30-minute time frame can understand what a big sacrifice it was for Derek to agree to help. The kids love him and we had a great time. He and my mom took shifts as my passenger-helpers and they were AMAZING!! I am so thankful for 3 good travelers! It is such a blessing that they know how to entertain themselves and they are content reading or playing games! I was so thankful we were able to stay at my Aunt and Uncle’s house and our family from NC was staying there as well! We made a lot of memories but I am so glad to be home with Adam and back in a routine!!

Madelynn right after my Aunt pierced her ears!

MJright after my Aunt pierced her ears!

Pool fun with the cousins

Pool fun with the cousins

Amelia is 6 weeks  younger than MJ. It was so fun watching them together!

Amelia is 6 weeks younger than MJ. It was so fun watching them together!

2014-07-27 09.19.13 2014-07-27 07.53.35-1

Everyone that came from my immediate family

Everyone that came from my immediate family

My 2 cousins and all of our kids- 5 kids under 4 and Bethany has a little boy on the way!

My 2 cousins and all of our kids- 5 kids under 4 and Bethany has a little boy on the way!

IMG_1994

My dad and his brothers and sister (we were celebrating her husband's 80th birthday)

My dad and his brothers and sister (we were celebrating her husband’s 80th birthday)

Leave a Reply

