Canning and shelling

We had a productive weekend in the kitchen. We are harvesting tomatoes faster than we can eat them so  Adam decided to can tomato sauce this weekend. We didn’t have a very big harvest of beans and my favorite vegetable are zipper peas. We called them “Florida peas” at my grandmother’s house and the smell of these peas on the stove bring back so many fond memories for me. We haven’t attempted to grow them yet so fortunately a girl I work with was selling big hampers full of my favorite peas! I picked them up Friday and I intended to begin shelling sometime Saturday however, I had to work in the morning and my sister’s baby shower was in the afternoon. Well, to my surprise, I arrived home after my busy day and my wonderful husband had shelled almost all of them! I am so excited that we will these peas through winter!! And he was able to can 4 jars of tomato sauce and that barely put a dent in our tomatoes. Enjoy the pictures!

DSC_1013

See the beautiful bag of peas?

DSC_1023 DSC_1022 DSC_1020 DSC_1018 DSC_1017

Leave a Reply

