Kombucha

I am so thankful a friend introduced me to Kombucha. I had heard about it but it seemed weird and time consuming. Then a friend gave me a SCOBY so I was forced to learn more! I have successfully brewed 4 batches and I experiment with a new flavor each week. Here is a little background on Kombucha.

Kombucha is a raw, fermented, probiotic, and naturally carbonated tea. A SCOBY is Symbiotic Culture Of Bacteria and Yeast. Symbiotic means that the bacteria and yeast strains live together in a complex, mutually supportive community, supporting and depending on each other. Analysis of the contents of kombucha confirms that it is rich in amino-acids, probiotics, antioxidants, glucuronic acid, trace minerals, B vitamins and more… It is a living, enzyme-rich drink.

I brew/ferment my kombucha for 7 days. I then bottle it and add a combination of fruit/herbs and let it ferment again for 7 days. This second fermentation allows it to carbonate. My favorite so far is mango kombucha and lemon/ginger kombucha. I am really enjoying learning about kombucha and I love sharing with others. Please let me know if you are interested in trying it; I always have an extra SCOBY so I can share with others!

This is my mother SCOBY. I "retired" it today (I fed it to the chickens) and I started with a new, baby SCOBY.

This is my mother SCOBY. I “retired” it today (I fed it to the chickens) and I started with a new, baby SCOBY.

This is what a SCOBY looks like

This is what a SCOBY looks like

This week I bottled another lemon/ginger and two ginger/peach.

This week I bottled another lemon/ginger and two ginger/peach.

I used the kids stickers to label the flavor!!

I used the kids stickers to label the flavor!!

DSC_0881

The ceramic container with the spigot is where the kombucha ferments with the SCOBY. It needs to be room temperature and away from direct sunlight.

The ceramic container with the spigot is where the kombucha ferments with the SCOBY. It needs to be room temperature and away from direct sunlight.

Leave a Reply

